Declaration of Singleton Council for 2021-2024


Almost three weeks since Singleton voters went to the polls in the local government election, the new Singleton Council for 2021-2024 has been declared.

After the Mayor of Singleton, Cr Sue Moore was officially re-elected for a second term on Monday, the NSW Electoral Commission declared the nine Councillors who will represent the Singleton local government area are (in alphabetical order):

Cr Godfrey Adamthwaite

Cr Belinda Charlton

Cr Sue George

Cr Tony Jarrett

Cr Hollee Jenkins

Cr Mel McLachlan

Cr Tony McNamara

Cr Val Scott

Cr Danny Thompson

However, it is important to note the Electoral Commissioner has indicated a number of electors who registered on election day to use the iVote system did not receive the necessary security credentials to cast their vote before the close of the poll.

The outcome of the Singleton councillor elections will be subject to an application by NSW Electoral Commission to the Supreme Court for a declaration about the validity of the election results. This proposed action does not provide a barrier to the immediate commencement of their role as Councillors for those elected.

In the meantime, the new Council will come together in the middle of January, ahead of the first meeting on Tuesday 1 February 2022.

 See the Declaration of the Election