The village of Broke is situated at the base of the Brokenback and Hunter Ranges, on the Wollombi Brook, 24 kilometres south-east of Singleton. This quieter hamlet of wine country boasts over 70 boutique vineyards. Intimate cellar doors present a wide range of award winning wines for tasting and purchase. Broke also boasts first class guest houses, cottages, B&B’s, cafés, licensed restaurants, cellar doors and farm shops and a gourmet selection of local produce.
The locality of Fordwich, situated between Broke and Milbrodale, was the name of the property granted to John Blaxland Sr in the late 1820's. At the end of WWI, the area was redistributed as the Fordwich Soldiers Settlement Purchase area. At the time, many returning soldiers planted grapevines on their 10-acre allotments. Today, through the Fordwich area, some of the original vines planted in 1922 are still producing fruit.
Milbrodale, settled in 1822, is a small village surrounded by mixed farming and orange orchards. Situated 29 kilometres south of Singleton on the Putty Road, Milbrodale hosts several off-road events for 4WD vehicle enthusiasts during the year, including the Milbrodale Mountain Classic and the Tuff Truck Challenge. The most notable local icon, the Baiame Aboriginal Cave painting, is a site of cultural significance.
Bulga is situated 21 kilometres south of Singleton on the Putty Road, surrounded by grazing properties, olive groves and vineyards. The orchards of the village are well known for producing delicious citrus fruit. The local tavern is a friendly meeting place and the lively community hall hosts a range of activities and events. Bulga is the gateway to Yengo and Wollemi National Parks. The large wooden bridge spanning the Wollombi Brook at Bulga is a heritage-listed structure along with the Mount Lennard Homestead.
Mt. Thorley is primarily an industrial estate, located at the intersection of the Golden Highway and Putty Road, 13km south of Singleton. Mount Thorley is one of Singleton’s heavy industrial and engineering sectors. Settled by the pioneer Phillip Thorley, a member of the exploration party which discovered St Patrick’s Plains (now known as the Singleton district) in 1820.
Warkworth, 25 kilometres west of Singleton on the Golden Highway, is a small village with a church, picnic area with playground and a cricket oval.
The St Philip’s Anglican Church and cemetery and the old Warkworth Public School (1859) are the only original buildings remaining in the village.
Jerry’s Plains is located 37 kilometres north west of Singleton on the Golden Highway. The region was first known as St. Patrick’s Plains and then in 1820 (close to St Patrick’s Day) John Howe, Chief Constable of Windsor, named the river valley Jerry’s Plains. His large exploring party travelled through Jerry’s Plains on the way to discover the Singleton area. Presently, the pretty village on the fertile banks of the Hunter River is home to two of the largest thoroughbred horse breeding stud farms in Australia, Coolmore Stud and Woodlands.